Organization of IAARC

IAARC is a not-for-profit-organization (NPO) that uses its membership dues to develop services for, and facilitate and maintain communication between its members. IAARC is managed by its board whose directors and presidency continually change. The dynamic nature of the Association ensures that fresh ideas are brought into the organization whilst benefiting from the experience of others.

The organizational structure of IAARC is:

The Board of Directors (BOD) meets annually during the ISARC symposium and has some virtual meetings throughout the remainder of the year. The members of IAARC’s executive board are the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Past President and the General Secretary. Their activities involve: take responsibility for the association; approach new members; initiate and prepare board meetings; create reports for the annual BOD-meeting, i.e. membership status, financial statement and the budget for the coming years. The constitution of IAARC can be found here.



Frédéric Bosché University of Edinburgh United Kingdom



Ioannis Brilakis Cambridge University United Kingdom
Carl T. Haas University of Waterloo Canada
Hyoungkwan Kim Yonsei University Republic of Korea
Thomas Linner Technical University of Munich Germany
Benny Raphael I.I.T. Madras India
Jochen Teizer Aarhus University Denmark
Yelda Turkan Oregan State University USA


General Secretary

Rauno Heikkilä University of Oulu Finland


Honorary members of BOD

Yukio Hasegawa Waseda University – Tokyo Japan
Ronie Navon Technion – Israel Institute of Technology Israel
Miroslaw Skibniewski University of Maryland USA
Richard L. Tucker The University of Texas at Austin USA


Active BOD members

Par Ahman Swedish Construction Federation Sweden
Burcu Akinci Carnegie Mellon University USA
Mohamed Al-Hussein University of Alberta Canada
Burcin Becerik-Gerber University of Southern California USA
Thomas Bock Technical University Munich Germany
Alexey Bulgakov Ministy of education and science of Russian federation Russia
Alessandro Carbonari Università politecnica delle marche Ancona Italy
Daniel Castro Georgia Institute of Technology USA
Hung-Ming Chen National Taiwan University of Science and Technology Taiwan R.O.C.
Po-Han Chen National Taiwan University Taiwan
Jack C P Cheng The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Hong Kong
Min-Yuan Cheng National Taiwan University of Science and Technology Taiwan R.O.C.
Yong Cho Georgia Institute of Technology USA
Chen Feng New York University USA
Raul Fuentes RWTH Aachen Germany
Hiroshi Furuya Obayashi Corporation Japan
Borja García de Soto NYU Abu Dhabi UAE
Jozef Gašparík Slovak University of Technology Slovakia
Quang Ha University of Technology, Sydney Australia
Daniel Hall ETH Zürich Switzerland
Amin Hammad Concordia University Canada
Chang-Soo Han Hanyang University Republic of Korea
Daehie Hong Korea University Seoul Republic of Korea
Vineet Kamat The University of Michigan USA
Markus Kőnig Ruhr-University Bochum Germany
Soonwook Kwon Sungkyunkwan University Republic of Korea
Zoubeir Lafhaj EC Lille France
Junbok Lee Kyung Hee University Republic of Korea
Nan Li Tsinghua University China
Bharadwaj Mantha NYU Abu Dhabi UAE
Osama Moselhi Concordia University Canada
Saiedeh Razavi McMaster University Canada
Annop Sattineni Auburn University USA
JongWon Seo Hanyang University Seol Republic of Korea
Isaac Shabtai Technion – Israel Institute of Technology Israel
Xuesong Shen University of New South Wales Australia
Piotr Szynkarczyk Industrial Research Institute for Autom. And Measur. Poland
Enrique Valero University of Edinburgh United Kingdom
Frans van Gassel Eindhoven University of Technology The Netherlands
Koshy Varghese I.I.T. Madras India
Xiangyu Wang Curtin University Australia
Józef Wrona Military University of technology Poland
Zhenhua Zhu University of Wisconsin USA


Consultative BOD members

Tatsuo Arai Osaka University Japan
Carlos Balaguer Universidad Carlos III de Madrid Spain
Carlos Caldas University of Texas at Austin USA
Moon Young Cho Korea Institute of Construction Technology Republic of Korea
Ernesto Gambao Univesidad Politecnica de Madrid Spain
Ferri Hassani McGill University Canada